Welcome to Califon NJ


Califon was a station on the High Bridge Railroad, and although the mills were there for some time, it was quite a while before growth became evident in the mid-nineteenth century. It was first called California, from Jacob Neighbor's enthusiasm in the milling business about the time the California gold-fever broke out. The Borough was formed officially from Lebanon and Tewksbury Townships in 1918.

The Califon Historical Society registered 170 structures with the national Register of Historic Places. A charming Victorian Village. The houses are marked with the names of the builders and their dates of establishment rather than with street numbers.


All information deemed to be reliable but not guaranteed. The data relating to real estate for sale on this website comes in part from the IDX Program of Garden State Multiple Listing Service, L.L.C. Real estate listings held by other brokerage firms are marked as IDX Listing. This information is provided for consumers' personal, non-commercial use and may not be used for any purpose other than to identify prospective properties consumers may be interested in purchasing.
The dissemination of listings on this website does not constitute the consent required by N.J.A.C. 11:5.6.1 (n) for the advertisement of listings exclusively for sale by another broker. Any such consent must be obtained in writing from the listing broker.
Copyright © 2022 Garden State Multiple Listing Service, L.L.C. All rights reserved.